Retention of blocked-clip video

This page last updated: Friday May 01, 2026.

If Retain clips is enabled in the Blocked settings for a clip, its video recordings persist on device storage for the selected period and are not automatically deleted to make space for new recordings.

  • By default, Retain clips is enabled and video is kept until Manually deleted.
  • Blocked video recordings are considered "interesting". A large number of retained clips can affect stated camera retention periods. See Alta camera bandwidth usage, video quality, and video storage.
  • The retention period is shown in the side panel when you select a blocked clip in the blocked clips list.

Any video footage in a blocked clip that fully or partially exceeds the retention policy timeframe set for the device is deleted if you later delete the blocked clip or edit it and turn off Retain clips.