Share blocked clips
This page last updated: Friday May 01, 2026.
Users can still bookmark, export, or create external links of video that includes blocked clips.
- The following restrictions apply if a shared clip contains any part of a blocked clip.
- The inclusion or visibility of blocked video changes if the sharer is exempt from the block. For more information about exempt users, see Create a blocked clip.
For more information about the different ways of sharing video, see the Clips tool.
Export a blocked clip
Sharer is blocked: The blocked parts of the timeline are excised from the exported video file. The timeline jumps when it reaches blocked sequences.
Sharer is exempt: The blocked parts of the timeline are included in the exported file. Before export, the system shows a warning that blocked video will be included and viewable.
Create an external link to a blocked clip
Sharer is blocked: The blocked parts of the timeline are redacted when viewed. The timeline is preserved but blocked video appears blank with an overlaid text warning.
Sharer is exempt: The blocked parts of the timeline are viewable to anyone using the link. Before export, the system shows a warning that blocked video will be included and viewable.
Bookmark a blocked clip
Bookmarked video is only visible within the Alta Video. When shared with another user, the recipient's permissions determine if they can view blocked video. For example, a blocked user shares a bookmark with a user who is exempt. The sharer cannot see the blocked sequences, but the recipient can.